© 2020 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
What InPrivate Browsing does
Deletes your browsing info when you close all InPrivate windows
Saves favorites and downloads (but not download history)
Prevents Microsoft Bing searches from being associated with you
What InPrivate Browsing doesn’t do
Hide your browsing from your school, employer, or internet service provider
Give you additional protection from tracking by default
Add additional protection to what’s available in normal browsing
What can people see about my browsing?
Microsoft Edge will delete your browsing history, cookies, and site data, as well as passwords, addresses, and form data when you close all InPrivate windows. Other people using this device won’t see your browsing activity but your school, workplace, and internet service provider might still be able to access this data.
Your favorites and downloaded files will be saved, so you can access them next time you use Microsoft Edge. Learn more
What data does Microsoft Edge collect?
Microsoft Edge will only collect data that you have consented to providing. While browsing InPrivate, the websites you’ve visited are never used for product improvement and are not associated with your Microsoft account. Privacy statement
How does InPrivate search with Microsoft Bing protect me?
When a search query is submitted using InPrivate search, data that can be used to identify your account or device is removed. Bing will still provide local results based on your IP location, which can’t be traced back to your account or device. Links to sign in with your Microsoft Account won’t appear at the top of the page on Bing while using InPrivate search, and automatic sign in on Bing will be turned off.
Your InPrivate searches are never saved to Bing or Microsoft Edge browsing history and will never influence or appear in Bing search suggestions.
How can I control my tracking prevention settings when browsing InPrivate?
When you browse InPrivate, your tracking prevention settings will remain the same as in a normal browsing window. However, if you would like to always use “Strict” tracking prevention when you browse InPrivate, you can choose that in settings